# WRITTEN QUESTION TO THE MINISTER FOR EDUCATION, SPORT AND CULTURE BY DEPUTY M. TADIER OF ST. BRELADE ANSWER TO BE TABLED ON TUESDAY 24th MARCH 2015

## Question

Will the Minister provide a list of the names of all the governors and members of the Board of Governors (or equivalent) of Haut de la Garenne from 1945 until its closure? In particular, will the Minister highlight which politicians, past or present, if any, held such positions?

## Answer

The documents held by the Department for Education, Sport and Culture do not record the existence of a separate Board of Governors for Haut de la Garenne. The States Committee with political responsibility for Haut de la Garenne was the Public Instruction Committee from 1945 to 1955, and this was renamed the Education Committee by Act of the States in January 1955. In December 1959 the Education Committee decided to establish a sub-committee to 'deal with all matters relating to child welfare', and this body was still in existence when Haut de la Garenne closed in December 1986.

A list of names of the members of the sub-committee is given in Appendix 1, together with their membership status (i.e. 'States member' or 'co-opted member') and the periods in which they served as members. For the sake of completeness a list of the members of the Public Instruction and Education Committees is also attached as Appendix 2 for the period 1945-1986.

### **APPENDIX 1**

#### Name **Membership Status** From: To: Deputy Mrs P Green States Member January 1961 December 1963 Deputy K.A. Baal States Member January 1961 December 1961 Deputy C.A. Goodwin States Member January 1961 December 1961 Deputy F.E. Luce States Member January 1962 May 1965 Constable E.W. Vautier States Member January 1962 February 1963 January 1964 Deputy A.C. Queree June 1969 States Member Mrs A.P. Lakeman Co-opted January 1964 December 1966 Mrs St. J Birt Co-opted January 1964 December 1967 January 1964 December 1965 Mr R.G. Malzard Co-opted Constable R.H. Le Cornu States Member October 1965 June 1975 Mrs J.B. Norton January 1966 Co-opted December 1968 Mrs L. Picot January 1967 Co-opted December 1969 Mrs A.T. Chamier Co-opted January 1968 December 1970 Mrs R. Pilkington Co-opted January 1969 December 1972 Deputy J. Le S. Gallichan States Member June 1969 December 1969 Mrs E.C. Quenault Co-opted January 1970 December 1973 Deputy P.G. Mourant States Member December 1969 December 1978 January 1971 Mrs M. Le Ruez Co-opted December 1974 Mrs A. Baal January 1973 Co-opted December 1975 January 1973 Father F. Isherwood Co-opted March 1976 January 1974 Mrs E.J. Becquet Co-opted December 1977 January 1975 Mrs E. Le Boutillier Co-opted December 1978 January 1976 Deputy A. Baal States Member December 1981 Mrs. R. Hambly January 1976 Co-opted December 1981 January 1977 December 1980 Mr. K.R. Barette Co-opted December 1980 Mr. A. Colback Co-opted January 1978 January 1979 Mrs N. Yates Co-opted September 1980 January 1979 Deputy E.C. Quenault States Member Beyond 1986 Mrs C.F. Skinner Co-opted September 1980 February 1985 Advocate R.F.V. Jeune Co-opted January 1981 December 1985 Deputy P.G. Mourant States Member December 1981 February 1985 Mrs N. Oueree Co-opted January 1981 June 1983 Co-opted Mrs M. Pallot January 1981 December 1985 Reverend M. Beal November 1983 Beyond 1986 Co-opted Constable I.M. Le Feuvre States Member January 1985 Beyond 1986 February 1985 Beyond 1986 Mrs M. Marett Co-opted January 1986 Beyond 1986 Mrs M. Jeune Co-opted Dr. S. Milner Co-opted January 1986 Beyond 1986

### Membership of Childrens' Sub-Committee

# APPENDIX 2

# Membership of Public Instruction and Education Committees

Name				
Le Quesne	Р.	Deputy	Jan-46	Dec-49 President
Collas	W.J.J.	Jurat/Senator	Jan-46	Dec-54
Hornby	Rev R.S.	Rector	Jan-46	Dec-48
Avarne	C.H.B.	Deputy/Senator	Jan-46	Feb-51
Le Marinel	Very Rev Canon	Rector	Jan-46	Dec-48
Le Boutillier	F.	Constable	Jan-46	Apr-50
Krichefski	W.H.	Deputy	Jan-46	Dec-48
Ryan	D.	Deputy	Dec-48	Dec-51
Le Marquand	John	Deputy/Senator	Dec-48	Dec-68 President Feb 1952
Le Marquand	J.J.	Deputy	Dec-48	Dec-52
Le Brocq	E.H.	Deputy	Jan-50	Feb-52 President Jan 1950
Baudains	J.W.	Constable	Apr-50	Oct-62
Morrison	H.H.	Deputy	Feb-51	Sep-54
Crill	Р.	Deputy	Dec-51	Apr-58
Macpherson	Brigadier R.C.	Deputy	Mar-52	Dec-63
Simon	W.J.J.	Deputy	Dec-54	Dec-59
Rider	Rev R.J.	Deputy	Dec-54	Dec-60
Vibert	R.	Deputy	Dec-57	Dec-60 Reappointment June 1970
Le Brocq	R.F.	Deputy	Jul-58	Dec-59
Baal	К.	Deputy	Jan-59	Dec-59
Goodsman	C.A.	Deputy	Dec-60	Oct-61
Vautier	E.W.	Constable of St Ouen	Jan-62	Jul-64
Green	Mrs P.	Deputy	Dec-52	Dec-63
Luce	F.E.	Deputy	Jan-63	Apr-65
Jeune	R.R.	Deputy/Senator	Oct-62	Dec-84 President Jan 1969
Huelin	Mrs G.C.	Deputy	Jul-63	Dec-63 Reappointment Jan 1969
Queree	A.C.	Deputy	Jan-64	Jun-69
Riley	Major J.R.C.	Deputy	Jan-64	Dec-66
Letto	M.	Deputy	Jan-64	Jan-66
Le Cornu	R.H.	Constable	Jun-65	Jul-75
Gallichan	J. Le S.	Deputy	Nov-65	Dec-68
Cabot	P.G.	Deputy	Feb-66	Jun-67
Le Brocq	R.F.	Senator	Jan-67	Jun-67
Le Ruez	S.P.	Deputy	Jul-67	Dec-75
Le Gresley	H.F.	Deputy	Jun-68	Dec-75
Huelin	Mrs G.C.	Senator	Jan-69	Dec-75
White	L.H.	Senator	Jan-69	Jun-70
Mourant	P.G.	Deputy	Jan-69	Dec-87 President Jan 1985
Vibert	R.	Senator	Jun-70	Dec-72 Reappointment Dec 1984
Le Maistre	J.A.	Deputy/Senator	Jan-73	Dec-84

Le Brocq	A.D.	Deputy	Oct-75	May-83
Baal	Mrs A	Deputy	Jan-76	Dec-81
Quenault	Mrs E.C.	Deputy	Jan-76	Dec-87
Troy	B.E.	Deputy	Jan-76	Dec-78
Sandeman	Mrs J.P.	Senator	Jan-79	Dec-84
Horsfall	P.F.	Senator	Jan-82	Dec-84
Le Maistre	C.A.	Constable	Jun-83	Dec-84
Vibert	R.	Senator	Dec-84	Aug-86
Le Feuvre	I.M.	Constable	Dec-84	Sep-95 President
				April 1988
Rumboll	R.E.	Deputy	Dec-84	Apr-88 President
				Dec 1987
Wavell	M.A.	Deputy	Dec-84	Dec-87
Dubras	H.L.	Deputy	Dec-84	Dec-90
Baudains	H.H.	Deputy	Nov-86	Dec-87